Mobile menu

Anyone done tutoring before?
Thread poster: vieleFragen
vieleFragen
Local time: 07:01
English
Jul 16, 2008

Hello,

I used to be a tutor for French and it paid quite well (for a college student, of course!). At an agency, I would have gotten 15 Euros per 60 minutes. If you have some more credentials (maybe a degree in languages) and don't have to rely on agency work, you can probably earn higher fees (obviously). I read a comment somewhere of somebody charging 30 Euros per 45 minutes. I don't know how hard it is to earn a higher fee doing that, but it doesn't seem impossible.

I don't think this would make anyone rich, of course, but tutoring (if you do it regularly and have good materials at hand) seems like a nice job, that would also bring in some variety from translation.

Of course, youd have to speak the right language (French in germany for example) and be good at explaining stuff and be good with people.

The problem for most people might be that students only have time in the afternoon (unless you like to sleep as long as myself). Seriously, though are any of you translators doing something like that on the side?

Direct link Reply with quote

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:01
English to Spanish
+ ...
Many years ago Jul 16, 2008

Many years ago when I was living close to my university campus but not enrolled and working a late afternoon and evening job I would do some tutoring. I would find a break that students had between classes and meet them anywhere, usually under a tree. Well, that was where Socrates held forth, right?

I would charge US $5.00 per hour, but that was like 38 years ago. The fees you mention should be feasible today.

I would pick up students to tutor from instructors at the U.

But now that I translate, I find it more lucrative than tutoring or teaching classes. Plus I no longer live close to the U.

Kevin Fulton
United States
Local time: 02:01
German to English