Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Is the financial crisis a credible excuse for delaying payment?
Thread poster: Clémentine Choubrac

Clémentine Choubrac  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:46
Member (2008)
English to French
+ ...
Oct 21, 2008

Hello everyone,

I am looking for a word of advice. I have been working as a free-lance translator for almost 2 years now. I am now experiencing difficulties with a free-lancer from Belgium who posted a job on ProZ.com in May (he is also registered on ProZ). I replied to this job offer and ended up doing this job for him, and then a couple of others as he needed help on projects, between end of May and end of June.

Payment (500 € altogether) was due one month after reception of invoice. By mid August I send an email asking him when was the payment going to be made. He replied saying that he was on holidays, that he hadn't been paid himself for those projects before he left, and that would be back in the office 1st of September. He never got in touch with me again. I emailed him on 23rd of September, no reply. I tries to call him on landline and mobile phone, no reply.

Today I email him and he tells me that his bank cancelled without warning his line of credit, that this is propably linked to the financial crisis, that he basically doesn't have cash to pay me and asks me to be patient. I have been patient enough and I'm thinking of taking legal action.

My question is: do you think this is a valid excuse? is it actually possible that his bank cancelled his cash credit without warning? Are there any other Belgian translators to whom this has happened? I must admit I don't belive him. But if he doesn't have money, a reminding about payment from a lawyer won't change anything about the situation.

Thank you for reading!

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
No excuse Oct 21, 2008

Hi Clémentine

My question is: do you think this is a valid excuse?

No.