https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/118967-delivering_translation_without_any_guarantee_of_being_paid_what_should_i_do_.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Delivering translation without any guarantee of being paid - What should I do ?
Thread poster: Mathieu Coulon
Mathieu Coulon
Mathieu Coulon
France
Local time: 08:40
English to French
Oct 26, 2008

Hi everyone,

I'm currently a 19-year-old French student in Foreign Languages and plan to become a translator at the end of my studies.

In parallel with my studies, I've replied to a job offer, which asks for a English to French translator for a website in gambling activities.

I was given a test which I succeeded in, and therefore my employer (seemingly from Eastern Europe) told me I would be paid $15 per 600 words, what I agreed.

As a consequen
... See more
Hi everyone,

I'm currently a 19-year-old French student in Foreign Languages and plan to become a translator at the end of my studies.

In parallel with my studies, I've replied to a job offer, which asks for a English to French translator for a website in gambling activities.

I was given a test which I succeeded in, and therefore my employer (seemingly from Eastern Europe) told me I would be paid $15 per 600 words, what I agreed.

As a consequence, I was paid $18 on my Paypal account for the test, which was 700 words.

Now, I've received a 21000-words project (so basically more than $500), for which I was given a 2-weeks deadline.
I've started to translate it, but I fear I don't have any guarantee that I will be paid since there is no real agreement but the e-mail in which he says I will be paid.

I know very little in terms of legislation and of common practices since I am not a translator for the moment.

In your opinion, what should I do ? Should I ask right now for any guarantee ? Should I translate the thing, then send him a part of the project and ask to be paid before I send the rest ? Should I send the whole document and just hope I will be paid ?