VAT issues in Ireland
Thread poster: garrett higgins
garrett higgins
garrett higgins
Local time: 06:25
Italian to English
Dec 16, 2008

Hi. I am a freelance Italian-English translator living and working in Dublin with a VAT number. Up to now, all my work has been with agencies in the US so I have not charged VAT.
However, I have started to work for an agency in Ireland and will charge them VAT.
Every 2 months, I fill out a 'VAT3' form in which I reclaim VAT on sundry expenses. Will I now have to pay VAT every 2 months?
How exactly does charging (and paying?) VAT work.
Or is there a 'withholding' like ther
... See more
Hi. I am a freelance Italian-English translator living and working in Dublin with a VAT number. Up to now, all my work has been with agencies in the US so I have not charged VAT.
However, I have started to work for an agency in Ireland and will charge them VAT.
Every 2 months, I fill out a 'VAT3' form in which I reclaim VAT on sundry expenses. Will I now have to pay VAT every 2 months?
How exactly does charging (and paying?) VAT work.
Or is there a 'withholding' like there is in Italy (where I used to work freelance)?
Or can I decide not to charge VAT (and would that be better?)?
Much obliged,
garrett james higgins

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2008-12-16 14:28 GMT]
Collapse

Karl Apsel
Karl Apsel  Identity Verified
Ireland
Member (2001)
English to German
+ ...
VAT in Ireland Dec 16, 2008

Hi Garrett,

Your first point of call should be the VAT section on the website of the Irish Revenue Commissioners: http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vat/index.html You will probably find most of your questions answered there.

Now, you only become liable to charge VAT if your turnover is above a certain limit (EUR 37,500 for the supply of services). However, as you have alre
... See more
Hi Garrett,