Off topic: Tricky literary translation deal questions
Thread poster: Metamorphosiser
Metamorphosiser
Local time: 08:29
English
+ ...
Feb 7, 2009

Hi all,

I'm a Kurdish translator and a New-York based literary agent contacted me recently, asking if I'd be interested in the translation of a 600-page novel. I'm very very keen on the project - the agent wants me to write a chapter by chapter synopsis and translate around 50 pages, for which he says there's no guarantee I would be paid. If a publisher accepts the copy, then we'll go ahead with the translation of the whole book. The agent says the normal rate is 10 cents per word, but it could be lower! He says I would be paid twice if the book is printed in UK too. So, lots of ifs. Can I ask for any sale percentages or intellectual rights? What is the best I can go for and what should I be looking out for in this deal?

Thanks for your advice.

M

Direct link Reply with quote

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 09:29
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Not off-topic Feb 8, 2009

I think the forum moderator should change the thread title to remove "off-topic" because this is a very relevant issue you're asking about.

Lingua 5B  Identity Verified
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Local time: 09:29
English to Croatian
+ ...
a few suggestions Feb 8, 2009

Metamorphosiser wrote:

Hi all,