Mobile menu

Is it safe to link a credit card to Paypal?
Thread poster: Mónica Belén Colacilli

Mónica Belén Colacilli  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 04:44
Member (2008)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 4, 2009

Hi everyone,

I've been using Paypal for a couple of years now, only for some clients who prefer this payment method, and I found it convenient. The thing is I'm about to reaching my total limit for withdrawals, and I'm being asked to link a credit card, which I'm a little reluctant to for safety reasons. What do you think about it? Have you had good or bad experiences?

Thanks for your contribution!
Belén

Direct link Reply with quote

Tomás Cano Binder, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:44
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Many years with a credit card linked... Mar 4, 2009

...and no problem or strange items in my account at all. So I presume it is pretty safe as long as you do keep a strong (long, complex) password for the access to your account. May I also suggest that you use a separate email account that is only used for PayPal and is completely unknown (and impossible to know) to anybody who is not a customer of yours?

Ivan Patti  Identity Verified
Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
If not sure, try this. Mar 4, 2009

Hi Monica, I agree with Tomas. Shouldn't you feel really safe yet, you can try this: in Italy (and in most Europe I presume) the Post and many banks have been offering for some years "rechargeable" credit cards, which are not linked to any account and where the user can put as much money as he/she wants up to a set limit (€ 2000.00 in most cases). If these are available in Argentina as well, I think you can get one and link it to your PayPal account just like I did, so in the case - God forbid - that some hacker eventualy succeeds in getting your credit card details you'll get no major harm.
Hope this is a good piece of advice!
Ivan

Mónica Belén Colacilli  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 04:44
Member (2008)