Tax between EU and the Americas
Thread poster: Gary Smith

Gary Smith  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:46
Member (2007)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Mar 7, 2009

I need to know if US (or Latin American) agencies or freelancers need to put VAT on their bills to European agencies or freelancers, and vice-versa.
I'm a Brit resident in Spain with a Spanish NIE tax number. In the past when I've bought products or services from US companies, sometimes they put "Spanish VAT" on top (though I don't know if the Spanish government actually gets this in the end!) and sometimes they simply don't bother. Come to think of it, Proz issues bills with VAT itself, but I guess they have a European office, right?
(I'm thinking of setting up a US company, if this actually works out cheaper than being a freelancer from the UK).
I've been combing the forums for a while now but still haven't found the exact simple answer to this (maybe this holy grail is in fact lost in the depths of the Atlantic); if somebody has already given the answer just point me to it. Thanks.

Direct link Reply with quote

sokolniki  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:46
English to Russian
+ ...
No Mar 7, 2009

I've been working with numerous European agencies for several years as a freelancer and never put VAT in my bills. This has never caused a problem.

Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:46
Flemish to English
+ ...
Euroguideline Mar 8, 2009

According to a European guideline (I don't know its number) VAT has to be paid on services from the US to the EU. The US-company must choose a European country where it chooses to have a VAT-number. In the case of at the address of one of its stakeholders in Germany. This stakeholder pays VAT to the German tax-authorities.
In your case, your company would be exporting services to the EU and according to this guideline has to pay VAT in a country of choice, i.e.the UK.