Thread poster: José Porfírio
José Porfírio
José Porfírio  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:35
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Mar 19, 2009

Dear colleagues:

Although I've been using Trados for more than 3 years now, my usual clients have their own payment systems which have nothing to do with Trados. However, a new entity that is interested in my work asked me what are my Trados rates. I have no experience with that. I would like to give them a reply that wouldn't beggar me but that would not scare the prospective client away. The language pair, by the way, is English to Portuguese.

I've previously posted t
... See more
Dear colleagues:

Although I've been using Trados for more than 3 years now, my usual clients have their own payment systems which have nothing to do with Trados. However, a new entity that is interested in my work asked me what are my Trados rates. I have no experience with that. I would like to give them a reply that wouldn't beggar me but that would not scare the prospective client away. The language pair, by the way, is English to Portuguese.

I've previously posted this message on the Help with Trados forum, but it is problably more appropriate here?

Can you help me, please?

Thank you.

José

[Edited at 2009-03-19 17:34 GMT]
Collapse

Wolfgang Jörissen
Wolfgang Jörissen  Identity Verified
Belize
Dutch to German
+ ...
No freebies Mar 19, 2009

Whatever you do, do not give anything away without charging for it. I give a decent discount for exact matches and repetitions, but I do charge for them. I might make an exception when an external TM is delivered and I am told not to touch the exact matches, but then again, I do not take any responsibility for the material that is not translated by me.

And... every fuzzy match below 85% goes for the full rate in my case.

José Porfírio
English to Portuguese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Please give me an example Mar 19, 2009

Wolfgang Jörissen wrote: