https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/132947-calculating_hours_for_a_job_when_no_previous_experience_can_you_help_me.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Calculating hours for a Job when no previous experience. Can you help me?
Thread poster: MariaPelufoV
Apr 17, 2009

Hi!

I am a newbie in this forum and I apologize if I am in the wrong one, and this issue is not "business". I just got hired by a company that is aware that I am a French and Spanish translator but since I am very fluent in German and know their product by now, they prefer that I handle their German translations as well.

Logically, they are much more difficult for me than working in the languages I am used to work in. And I am having a lot of problems calculating the h
... See more
Hi!

I am a newbie in this forum and I apologize if I am in the wrong one, and this issue is not "business". I just got hired by a company that is aware that I am a French and Spanish translator but since I am very fluent in German and know their product by now, they prefer that I handle their German translations as well.

Logically, they are much more difficult for me than working in the languages I am used to work in. And I am having a lot of problems calculating the hours it will take me to finish my work and estimating my time. Does anyone here have experience working with an unfamiliar language, machine assisted (Trados) but using the software for the first time, (so you know how nearly useless it can be for that language), let's say per hour, how many pages?

I would appreciate it very much your help!!

Thank you!!

maria
Collapse

Kevin Lossner
Kevin Lossner  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 10:56
German to English
+ ...
? Apr 17, 2009

It's not at all clear what you want to do. Could you be more specific? Are you intending to translate into German?

MariaPelufoV
MariaPelufoV
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you! and YES! Apr 17, 2009