Mobile menu

paypal and residency
Thread poster: Katherine Cosentino

Katherine Cosentino  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:45
Italian to English
+ ...
Sep 1, 2003

I've been reading the posts about paypal, moneybookers and other ways of getting paid for out-of-country jobs. Although I am an American citizen, I am a resident in Italy. I read that residents in Italy can't withdraw from Paypal but can only use the money for online purchases. I have a bank account in the States, and, although I need to invoice using my tax-id number in Italy in order to keep my work permit, couldn't I just sign up for paypal using my US bank account? Anyone else done this? Pros? Cons?
Thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

DGK T-I  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:45
Member (2003)
Georgian to English
+ ...
They say it's possible... Sep 2, 2003

Hello Katherine,
I sent them an e-mail enquiry, and they replied:
"Currently, withdrawals to bank accounts are available in the following countries:
Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany,
Hong Kong, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore,
Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. If you live outside
of these countries, you can add a U.S. bank account to your PayPal
Account and begin accepting payments."
So, from what they say (I've no personal experience of this to offer), it can be done. (As I'm not US based, I don't know whether or not there are US tax implications.) I don't know what the situation is over Moneybooker & Italy, but it's probably worth looking into that as well.

[Edited at 2003-09-02 06:23]

Italian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks... Sep 2, 2003

Thank you so much for your help. I'll look into Moneybookers as well.
Katherine

murat karahan  Identity Verified
Turkey
Local time: 03:45
English to Turkish
+ ...
Lucky you.... Sep 2, 2003