Mariela Diaz-Butler
Mariela Diaz-Butler
United States
Local time: 05:42
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 2, 2009

Hello all:

This is my first time posting in this forum, so bear with me if I don't make much sense. I am just recently beginning to follow some of the threads here, and started monitoring some of the job postings that come up in Proz. One of the things I have been astonished to notice is that it seems that a great deal of the outsourcers posting jobs are also posting how much they are willing to pay, and the payment usually is a pittance compared to the work that is requested. Obvi
... See more
Hello all:

This is my first time posting in this forum, so bear with me if I don't make much sense. I am just recently beginning to follow some of the threads here, and started monitoring some of the job postings that come up in Proz. One of the things I have been astonished to notice is that it seems that a great deal of the outsourcers posting jobs are also posting how much they are willing to pay, and the payment usually is a pittance compared to the work that is requested. Obviously, there are freelancers out there willing to do the work under such terms, because otherwise there wouldn't be so many of such postings.

I guess what is puzzling to me is that, as a previous project manager for a well know U.S. agency, I know the rates we paid our translators (at least in my working pair, which is Eng Spa) were at least twice as much as those that I see posted around here. Accordingly, I set my rates to be lower than those that I knew, so as to make myself competitive, but I must admit they are still nowhere near what I see out here (4 U.S. cents/word? Really?!?).

So, must I compromise what I believe to be a fair compensation in order to get clients? It is disturbing to me, because I know for a fact, that agencies do charge more than twice and sometimes trice what they pay their translators.