Thread poster: Nexus Translate
Moneybookers Vs. Paypal
Nexus Translate  Identity Verified
Chile
Local time: 05:49
English to Spanish
+ ...
Feb 15, 2010

Hi everyone, I am relatively new to this business, I have been a freelance for only a year and most of the time I have worked with local clients.

I am now using paypal to receive payments from my clients abroad but someone asked me to receive through moneybookers and so the question arised, what's cheaper / better paypal or moneybookers?

I see that moneybookers charges 2.45 USD per withdrawal plus a 1.99% to their wholesale exchange rates while Paypal charges 5.00 USD plus an exchange rate of a 2.5% plus a 3.4% + 0.30 USD each time you get paid.

If I do my math Paypal is MUCH more expensive so is there a trick? is it only because is more popular? should I do my transactions through Moneybookers?

I would very much appreciate your personal opinions and experiences.

Thanks and great day!

Aliz.

Direct link Reply with quote

Kristine Lielause  Identity Verified
Latvia
Local time: 11:49
Member (2005)
English to Latvian
+ ...
Just thoughts without calculation Feb 15, 2010

Hi Aliz,
I think Moneybookers is more - "receiver friendly", but PayPal is more popular
p.s. I have both accounts.

[Rediģēts plkst. 2010-02-15 17:06 GMT]

Steven Capsuto  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:49
Partial member (2004)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Availability issues Feb 15, 2010

It depends where your clients are. For example, I'm in the U.S.

People in the United States can receive money via Moneybookers but not send money (unless they have an account in a foreign bank).

When receiving payments from European clients, I prefer Moneybookers because the rates are lower. But for other purposes, Paypal is the only one of these services that I can use.

[Edited at 2010-02-15 17:13 GMT]

Daniel Šebesta  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 10:49
Member (2007)
English to Czech
+ ...