Agencies and Prices
Thread poster: David Brown
David Brown  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 16:54
Spanish to English
Dec 3, 2003

I am a relatively new freelancer (castellano to english). In my CV, like most people I include my fees/word. The range I quote has been set by agencies who have sent me work. Therefore my minimum, at the moment is 0.04Euros(5 US cents)/word. Recently, I have been sent offers of work from 2 agencies, but asking for my price for example 2000 words. I have quoted my lowest price 70 Euros and have been turned down or to be more exact have heard nothing more. Is there more to bidding that I should know ?

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxMarc P  Identity Verified
German to English
+ ...
Peanuts Dec 3, 2003

0.04 Euros/5 US Cents is peanuts. It defeats me how anyone in western Europe can make a reasonable living and deliver work to a satisfactory standard whilst charging rates as low as this.

My two peanuts.

Marc

[Edited at 2003-12-04 06:08]

prmlistas
English to Spanish
+ ...
0.04 € a really low rate Dec 3, 2003

I also agree that 0.04€ is a really low rate. I've just seen that there's a job offer today at Proz for Frech>Spanish Translators whishing to undertake a 10,900 word technical project for 0.035/word! Well, they say that is 0.04, with a total of 381,50€, so that means that they're only willing to pay 0.035 per word for a Technical Translation, this is ridiculous! What could we do to make clients realise that these rates are not fair? We, translators, should not accept things like that...

David Brown wrote: