Customer requests Glossary development as part of job
Thread poster: escribien
escribien
escribien
Local time: 23:19
Spanish to English
+ ...
Mar 23, 2002

We are bidding on a substancial Eng-Spa job whre the contract specifies that we are to \"develop a glossary for use by future translators\". Besides the fact that it represents additional work, I would like to know if this is considered common practice, and possibly other translator\'s experiences with this.

Samy Boutayeb
Samy Boutayeb  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 06:19
German to French
+ ...
Extra work => extra payment Mar 23, 2002

Dear colleague,

Definitively :

Extra work => extra payment

Terminology work (i.e. terminology extraction, creation of glossaries, management of terminology databases, etc.) is time consuming and should be paid accordingly (ideally by hour)

Regards

Samy

tramont (X)
tramont (X)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Yes it is common practice Mar 23, 2002

I have had some experience of this in a previous incarnation, with managing translation contracts where the end client was the European Commission. I think that it is quite common practice for large projects where there is a need to establish terminology and where the project is likely to run for a long period using different suppliers.

As a translator, it is easy to feel that one is merely making life easier for one\'s replacement in the event that the job is retendered in
... See more
I have had some experience of this in a previous incarnation, with managing translation contracts where the end client was the European Commission. I think that it is quite common practice for large projects where there is a need to establish terminology and where the project is likely to run for a long period using different suppliers.

As a translator, it is easy to feel that one is merely making life easier for one\'s replacement in the event that the job is retendered in the future. However, there is no doubt that: