Mobile menu

Does anyone have experience working in a country that has no established translation rates?
Thread poster: alexandra123

alexandra123
Local time: 09:32
English to Spanish
+ ...
May 4, 2004

Hello everyone,

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions. I work as a translator in Honduras. My work is mainly English to Spanish and some german. AS far as I know, there are only two other certified and academically prepared translators here and both actually only translate as an added income to their normal work. There is no organized entity of translators or interpreters that I can use as a guideline for establishing rates. Researched the rates and how translations are charged here on this site. I decided to go by rate/word, not only based on what I have seen on the proz site but also because clients here in Honduras complain about the rates thinking that it is unfair to charge for the whole page when only 4/5 of it are full of text. Charging rate/word hs also presented a problem because they think I am cheating(*) them. I charge in Honduran currency at Lps. 0.50 per word (to explain: the exchange rate to the dollar is Lps. 18.00 to USD 1.00 as of now, in a month it will probably be even greater) and they still say it is too much. My main competition, the Honduran-American Chaber of Commerce charges ca. Lps. 300.00 per page. I have no idea what to do. Can someone give me some advice?

Thanks a million.
alexandra

(*) To explain "cheating"...They think I am cheating them because they ask me directly "How do I know that the amount of words in the document is really the amount you are charging for? The document does not look like it has 500O words...how do I know you are telling the truth?" (for example)...I do give them a pretty detailed explanation and a copy of the translation on diskette so that they can have proof that I am not charging for more words than the amount on the document.

[Edited at 2004-05-04 21:01]

[Edited at 2004-05-04 22:08]