https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/21860-average_price_for_a_transcription.html

Average price for a transcription
Thread poster: cendrine marrouat (X)
cendrine marrouat (X)
cendrine marrouat (X)
English to French
+ ...
Jun 9, 2004

Hello all!
I have received an offer for a transcription. I was wondering about the price per minute or per hour. The company offers me 13 Cdn dollars an hours. I find it quite low, but considering I've never done it before, I am not sure if it is a regular tarif or not.
Can someone tell me?
Thanks a lot!

Brandis (X)
Brandis (X)
Local time: 06:55
English to German
+ ...
Do you mean 13 Canadian or US dollars per Hour Jun 9, 2004

cendrine marrouat wrote:

Hello all!
I have received an offer for a transcription. I was wondering about the price per minute or per hour. The company offers me 13 Cdn dollars an hours. I find it quite low, but considering I've never done it before, I am not sure if it is a regular tarif or not.
Can someone tell me?
Thanks a lot!
Do you mean 13 Canadian or US dollars per Hour?? brandis

Karin Adamczyk (X)
Karin Adamczyk (X)  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 00:55
French to English
Doesn't even matter Jun 9, 2004

The company offers me 13 Cdn dollars an hours.

It really would not matter to me. At that rate, I would take the day off and work in my garden! You may as well flip burgers or clean toilets at that rate!

Take care,
Karin

cendrine marrouat (X)
cendrine marrouat (X)
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Average price for a transcription Jun 9, 2004

The person said 13 US dollars an hour.

awilliams
awilliams
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:55
Italian to English
+ ...
atrocious Jun 9, 2004

That's about GBP 5.00 an hour, which is pretty rough! (Only just over the minimum wage.) Transcription is a pretty painstaking process, which is not as easy as some agencies seem to think it is!

Good luck!

[Edited at 2004-06-09 22:00]

[Edited at 2004-06-09 22:01]

[Edited at 2004-06-09 22:03]

Russell Gillis