Tips to avoid not getting paid
Thread poster: Marion Schimmelpfennig
Marion Schimmelpfennig
Marion Schimmelpfennig  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:47
English to German
Nov 9, 2004

Hi all,

I have been a freelance writer/translator since 1991 - thus have a fair experience also with money matters - and thought that some of you might be interested in how I make sure that I always get paid. It goes without saying that I learned this the hard way!

1) I always insist on a written purchase order, be it by mail or fax or whatever.

2) I make sure I have all address details of the client first and know how to contact them.

3) I try
... See more
Hi all,

I have been a freelance writer/translator since 1991 - thus have a fair experience also with money matters - and thought that some of you might be interested in how I make sure that I always get paid. It goes without saying that I learned this the hard way!

1) I always insist on a written purchase order, be it by mail or fax or whatever.

2) I make sure I have all address details of the client first and know how to contact them.

3) I try to check their credibility by checking the Blueboard on Proz.com and/or asking colleagues and/or checking with other blacklists available. I also do a short internet search to see what comes up (you would be surprised what can come up!)

4) Before aceepting a job of a new client, I tell them that the first job of a new client has to be paid IN ADVANCE. If they are serious, they will have no problem with that. This is especially important with foreign clients as lodging an appeal in a foreign country is both difficult and costly. If the job is urgent and the money would only arrive after the deadline, I insist on a bank transfer statement of their bank via fax or email. Again, if they are serious, this does not pose a problem.