Mobile menu

Salary of a Japanese --> German Translator / Interpreter
Thread poster: vieleFragen
vieleFragen
Local time: 16:34
English
Dec 10, 2004

Hello. I'm a business student and I've always loved foreign languages and have been fairly good at them. As I've always wanted to do somethign related to languages, but had always been told, that translating / interpreting wasn't paid too well (to put it mildly), I started studying business administration about 8 months ago. But unfortunately, I have to say, that I'm really not interested in studying the things we are supposed to...not at all, actually.
So I was thinking it might be a good idea to quit and start studying to become a translator for an "exotic language" like japanese for example
(I'm more interested in japanese than in chinese and as far as I know I'd have to study "only" 2000 characters for japanese, whereas I'd have to study a couple of thousands more to be able to read every chinese character...I read in japanese there were "only" 2000, but in chinese you have to know 3000 only to be able to read a newspaper...which I heared from other sources wasn't true at all, because you'd have to know even way more for that...not to mention how many I'd have to know to translate highly sophisticated documents...).

I know it takes a lot of effort to learn a language like japanese (I heard it took about 3 times as long as it took to learn spanish for example), but I really think I could pull that off. I know my english isn't perfect, but I think I speak it pretty good considering I've never been to an english-speaking country in my whole life. The same thing holds true for my french, so I think I'd have a pretty good chance to learn japanese if I also went to the country for at least half a year or so.
(I know I wouldn't be a perfect translator yet, after achieving a degree though...).

Anyways, I'd like to know how much a japanese - german translator/interpreter could expect to earn in one month.