Payment in Euros
Thread poster: e2f
e2f
e2f  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:24
English to French
Jan 24, 2005

I apologize in advance if this question has already been asked.

I am a US resident but, due to the relative strength of the Euro, I'm starting to get clients in Europe.

I thought I could just send them invoices in Euros (using my current invoicing running number to show that i'm not trying to
cheat any taxman), and ask them to send checks to my father who lives in France and would deposit them on my non-resident bank account over there.

I thought
... See more
I apologize in advance if this question has already been asked.

I am a US resident but, due to the relative strength of the Euro, I'm starting to get clients in Europe.

I thought I could just send them invoices in Euros (using my current invoicing running number to show that i'm not trying to
cheat any taxman), and ask them to send checks to my father who lives in France and would deposit them on my non-resident bank account over there.

I thought I would this way eliminate bank charges/exchange rate headaches and have Euros available in Europe when I go there. And of course I was planning to report those incomes on my US taxes.

However, my 1st European client tells me they can't do that because that would create tax-related problems in France (and specifically with URSAF - French social security), both for them and myself.

What is the cheapeast (legal) way out of this situation?
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 15:24
English to German
+ ...
Why use a cheque? Jan 24, 2005

Hi Michel,

But why would you want to use a cheque, instead of simply quoting your account details (IBAN & BIC)? A cross-border cheque payment will still be subject to (sometimes heavy) fees, while bank transfers within the euro zone are very cost-efficient (and very often free of charge).

Does that help?

Best regards,
Ralf

e2f
e2f  Identity Verified
United States