Astrid Elke Witte
Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:10
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
Feb 26, 2005

I have been translating for seven years, but only as a freelancer since the beginning of this year. Since the beginning of January I have had what might be termed an extremely healthy number of orders - but now it transpires that nobody wants to pay for the translations I did in January!

The strangest part about it is that I tend only to work for agencies who have been unanimously graded a 5 on the Blue Board. I have just looked at a half-dozen or so of these entries again. All t
... See more
I have been translating for seven years, but only as a freelancer since the beginning of this year. Since the beginning of January I have had what might be termed an extremely healthy number of orders - but now it transpires that nobody wants to pay for the translations I did in January!

The strangest part about it is that I tend only to work for agencies who have been unanimously graded a 5 on the Blue Board. I have just looked at a half-dozen or so of these entries again. All the translators who have commented on these agencies swear that they pay on time. I assume on time to mean about a month later.

Do I have to believe that people are grading agencies with bad payment practices a 5, just in order to get further work from them? Or is it a fact, that everybody except me knows, that agencies simply do not pay anyone in the first quarter of the year? I have noticed this habit to some extent in previous years, but was not a full-time freelancer at the time.

Are no translators ever paid by agencies during the first calendar quarter?
Collapse

Lindsay Sabadosa (X)
Lindsay Sabadosa (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:10
Italian to English
+ ...
Have you contacted the agencies? Feb 26, 2005