Salary of a Junior translator
Thread poster: JennyC08

JennyC08
Local time: 07:23
German to French
+ ...
Mar 10, 2005

Hi there!

I don't really know if it's the right place for that post, so forgive me if not!

I have been offered a position as a Junior translator and I wanted to know what it means. I have been working for about 7 years as technical translator (5 of them were as Localisation manager) and I didn't consider myself as Junior!
If employed as a junior translator, I am assuming that the salary would be lower than the one of a senior translator. So what is the salary that can be expected?

Thanks a lot (Hope I will have answers soon as it is pretty urgent!)

Caroline

Direct link Reply with quote

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 13:23
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
Lower than that of a Senior Secretary Mar 10, 2005

Hi Caroline,

It doesn't sound like it's quite the right position for you, actually. In Germany, junior translators in full-time positions can hardly even match a secretary's salary, but would certainly get less than a senior secretary.

I don't, of course, know what salaries are like in Canada.

Astrid

JennyC08
German to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Danke schön! Mar 10, 2005

Thanks Astrid for your prompt reply!

Now I am a bit frightened, don't really know what to do.
I hope to get some other replies!

teju  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:23
English to Spanish
+ ...
Can you ask them? Mar 10, 2005

[quote]CarolineC wrote:

If employed as a junior translator, I am assuming that the salary would be lower than the one of a senior translator. So what is the salary that can be expected?