https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/34707-how_much_should_i_charge_for_a_book_as_a_novice_translator.html

How much should I charge for a book as a novice translator?
Thread poster: Jenn_seo
Jenn_seo
Jenn_seo
United States
Local time: 00:31
Korean to English
Jul 15, 2005

I've just recently begun translating from Korean to English. I have completed a book, which is in the process of being published. Now, I was totally new in this career and the job was offered to me by a friend without my searching for them, so I accepted a minimal fee of $2500 per book. Now I have no background in translation. My B.A. was in English literature and M.A. in teaching English. Currently, another person offered me to translate 4 of his non-fiction books. I am trying to find out... See more
I've just recently begun translating from Korean to English. I have completed a book, which is in the process of being published. Now, I was totally new in this career and the job was offered to me by a friend without my searching for them, so I accepted a minimal fee of $2500 per book. Now I have no background in translation. My B.A. was in English literature and M.A. in teaching English. Currently, another person offered me to translate 4 of his non-fiction books. I am trying to find out the average fee for the translation work. All of the books are about 250 to 300 pages long in Korean. How much rate should I charge per source word? Please advise me!Collapse

Jussi Rosti
Jussi Rosti  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 10:31
Member (2005)
English to Finnish
+ ...
Depends on many things Jul 15, 2005

Where do you live? Please find a translator assosiation - they should be able to help you. Better yet, join one.

$2500 sounds like much too little.

Just to give some understanding: In Finland, year 2003, for 32 000 character (about 16 pages), the average was €291, this for "good" literature. For less ambitious prose, €269. For children's books, €253. And finally, for non-fiction, €263.