Rufino Pérez De La Sierra
Rufino Pérez De La Sierra  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 08:54
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 21, 2005

Hello!

I need your help to learn more about translation rates in México. I need this information to negotiate a big upcomiong project.

I understand there's people who charges very ridiculous rates, but it all comes to quality...

Any info is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Rufino

Greta Vera
Greta Vera  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 05:54
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
Regarding rates in Mexico Jul 21, 2005

Dear Rufino,

I am a translator in Mexico, and as you have pointed out, some people's rates are ridiculous. This is mainly because not everyone is specialized.

For example, in the city where I live the rates can go very low from 50 pesos (250 words) up to 200 pesos for the same amount of words.

I can only tell you that it is terrible, since they are not thinking about the quality of the translations.

If there is anything I can help you aout wit
... See more
Dear Rufino,

I am a translator in Mexico, and as you have pointed out, some people's rates are ridiculous. This is mainly because not everyone is specialized.

For example, in the city where I live the rates can go very low from 50 pesos (250 words) up to 200 pesos for the same amount of words.

I can only tell you that it is terrible, since they are not thinking about the quality of the translations.

If there is anything I can help you aout with I will be happy to do it!

Have a great day,

Greta
Collapse

Juan Jacob
Juan Jacob  Identity Verified
Mexico
French to Spanish
+ ...
Conversión... Jul 21, 2005

El sistema en México es más bien por página.
50 pesos = 4.54 dólares / 250 palabras = 0.018 por palabra
200 pesos = 18.18 dólares / 250 palabras = 0.07 por palabra
Pero esta última tarifa, excepcionalísima, claro.
El precio promedio es de 100, 120 pesos = entre 0.036 y 0.043 por palabra.