Thread poster: Bettina Behrendt
Bettina Behrendt
Bettina Behrendt
Local time: 17:22
English to German
+ ...
Jul 30, 2005

Hello!

I'm a Germany-based novice translator and I would like to get some hints how much extra charge would be appropiate for a job to be done over the weekend (% of rate per line). How much do you usually charge?
I'd also like to know if there's a difference in the extra charge for a job received, let's say on a Friday to be delivered on Monday, and a job to be turned in a few days later, but which is to much to complete during "normal" working hours.
Awaiting your co
... See more
Hello!

I'm a Germany-based novice translator and I would like to get some hints how much extra charge would be appropiate for a job to be done over the weekend (% of rate per line). How much do you usually charge?
I'd also like to know if there's a difference in the extra charge for a job received, let's say on a Friday to be delivered on Monday, and a job to be turned in a few days later, but which is to much to complete during "normal" working hours.
Awaiting your comments, and cheers in advance,

Tina
Collapse

Gerard de Noord
Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Member (2003)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Weekend? Jul 30, 2005

Hi Bettina,

As a novice I'd forget about the concept of weekend altogether. Don't charge anything extra until you can afford to.

Regards,
Gerard

Kathinka van de Griendt
Kathinka van de Griendt  Identity Verified
German to English
+ ...
24-hour service, if at all Jul 30, 2005

Hello Bettina,
I have only ever charged a surplus rate (and that rarely) for translations which HAD to be completed within 24 hours and therefore kept me from my well-deserved sleep.... and I'm not a novice, either!
Regards and all the best for your future,
Kathinka

[Edited at 2005-07-30 16:53]

Juan Jacob
Juan Jacob  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 09:22
French to Spanish
+ ...
What's that? Jul 30, 2005