Anne Key
Anne Key
Local time: 07:50
Dutch to English
+ ...
In memoriam
Aug 2, 2005

Hello there,

Do any of you have any advice on how to approach an agency for incompetence?

Last week I submitted a 20,000-word translation on the understanding that I would be paid at the beginning of this month. However, one of their staff members failed to proofread the translation in time, resulting in the payment not being processed. I have been informed that I may have to wait a month before being paid.

As a freelancer, I am pretty frustrated about this
... See more
Hello there,

Do any of you have any advice on how to approach an agency for incompetence?

Last week I submitted a 20,000-word translation on the understanding that I would be paid at the beginning of this month. However, one of their staff members failed to proofread the translation in time, resulting in the payment not being processed. I have been informed that I may have to wait a month before being paid.

As a freelancer, I am pretty frustrated about this, as I seem to spend 20% of my time chasing up late / non payers. However, I do not wish to 'burn my bridges' either, as I am dependent on this agency for work.

How could I best approach the agency? I worked evenings as well as weekends to deliver the translation by the agreed deadline (27 July), and have not increased my rates for 4 years. Should I mention these points in my letter / e-mail to them?

All suggestions welcome!

Many thanks,

Pikey
Collapse

paula arturo
paula arturo  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:50
Spanish to English
+ ...
Don't put all your eggs in one basket Aug 2, 2005

Anne Key wrote:

I am dependent on this agency for work.

How could I best approach the agency? I worked evenings as well as weekends to deliver the translation by the agreed deadline (27 July), and have not increased my rates for 4 years. Should I mention these points in my letter / e-mail to them?

All suggestions welcome!

Many thanks,

Pikey