Thread poster: Nicole Y. Adams, M.A.

Nicole Y. Adams, M.A.  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 05:54
Member (2006)
German to English
+ ...
Sep 12, 2005

I have just started out as Freelance Translator English/German, and so far I have onyl worked for agencies who offered me their standard rate, i.e. do you want to translate this text for this amount.

Now I have applied to other agencies who are asking for my rate. I am very new to this and have looked on the internet for other people's rates, and I think I will offer £0.04 per word for translating and £0.025 per word for proofreading.

Could somebody please give me an indication if this a good rate for a newbie, or will I get laughed at by the agencies I am applying to?

Many thanks,
nya

Direct link Reply with quote

Jussi Rosti  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 22:54
Member (2005)
English to Finnish
+ ...
Proofreading ok Sep 12, 2005

Translation fee could be a bit higher.
-jr

Jeannie Graham  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:54
German to English
+ ...
translation rate could be higher Sep 12, 2005

I agree. I think you can safely go higher with your translation rate up to around £0.06.

jeannie

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Proofreading about one fifth of translation rates Sep 12, 2005

That's what I pay to proofreaders at least. So I believe your price for proofreading is rather high, especially if you have no special field of experience.
Regards
Heinrich

Victor Dewsbery  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 21:54
German to English
+ ...
Word rate roulette? Sep 12, 2005

Will your word rate be per English or German word? That makes an enormous difference (about 30%). If you don't agree this in advance, you can bet your bottom penny that the agency will assume your rate should be the one that provides least money.

Perhaps you may like to read my rules for "Word rate roulette" at http://www.proz.com/post/259767#259767