UK tax return: is a French course an allowable expense although I translate only into German?
Thread poster: Sonja Allen

Sonja Allen  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:58
Member (2005)
English to German
+ ...
Sep 13, 2005

Hi
I have just enrolled in a French A level course at my local college. I would like to build up my French over the next years and maybe take a translator's exam in the end. Would the tax man allow me to claim the cost of the courses as an allowable expense in my tax return, although the nature of my business is currently only translations into German? Who has got a similar experience?

Direct link Reply with quote

Daniel Bird  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
German to English
Although I've no experience of this directly... Sep 13, 2005

...I think it would be allowable, especially as you can demonstrate a business development angle. If your business description is "translator" rather than more specifically "D>E translator" then even better.
HTH
DB

Textklick  Identity Verified
German to English
+ ...
I'd put fair money on it Sep 13, 2005

"TAX RELIEF FOR TRAINING

Who is eligible?

Vocational training relief is available on certain payments made by individuals for their own vocational training. That is, training done to get the skills needed for an occupation, trade or profession.

Relief is available to taxpayers and non-taxpayers, and is given by deducting tax relief at the basic rate from their fees before they pay them. Those who pay higher-rate tax can claim further relief on their tax return or by writing to their tax office.

Individuals can only claim tax relief if:
They are resident in the UK for tax purposes during the year in which payment is made;
They are not receiving, or entitled to receive, financial assistance (that is, a loan or grant) for a course under a Government Scheme;
They are paying for the training themselves."