VAT within and outside of the European Union (Dutch and German translators please help)
Thread poster: M. Gasseling
M. Gasseling
Netherlands
Local time: 02:58
German to Dutch
+ ...
Sep 15, 2005

Dear all,

Sorry to have to bring this up again, but I have a question regarding VAT to be charged to clients within and outside of the European Union.

I have read through many posts and the general idea seems to be that you should charge "0%" VAT within the European Union, as long as your client has a valid EU VAT number (plus since january 2004 you have to state it on your invoice, including your own VAT number).

I am a Dutch translator and have done this for years without any complaints from the Dutch belastingdienst (tax department), but when I called a couple of months ago about a question regarding charging VAT to a potential US customer, they told me that "if the service is carried out within the Netherlands, I should charge 19% VAT".

I happened to mention I knew that charging VAT within the EU was not necessary as long as I had a valid VAT number, but the tax department disagreed there, saying that it was not a good I was exporting, but a service.
And since that service (translation) was connected to technical translations and not literary ones (and I wasn't a journalist, composer or author), I was supposed to charge 19% VAT.

I was quite amazed and expressed my doubts. The gentleman I was talking to told me to check with my own tax office then. I had my accountant look into the matter. He first contacted me with the answer that my invoice shouldn't contain any VAT, and have the phrase "VAT transferred (BTW verlegd)" on there.