Fee for re-use of translation?
Thread poster: Armorel Young

Armorel Young  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:57
Member (2004)
German to English
Sep 22, 2005

Some months ago I translated some German Lieder - the translations went on the CD inlay card. I've now been approached by someone who wants to reprint some of these translations in a concert program and is asking me what the re-use fee is.

I've never done anything in this field before and have no idea what an appropriate re-use fee would be. Can anyone advise? I can't say I feel particularly strongly about receiving anything - after all, I've had my fee for the work I did, which was the original translation - but I don't want to undermine people who rely on copyright fees for income and so I ought to conform to whatever is standard practice in the field, and would be grateful for information from anyone who knows what that is.

All this takes place in the UK, by the way.

Direct link Reply with quote

shfranke  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:57
English to Arabic
+ ...
Get legal advice Sep 22, 2005

Greetings.

That situation, as described, may involve some issues of copyright and intellectual property rights, especially since you produced and delivered the original translations on behalf of a paying customer.

Best approach is to seek professional legal advice.

HTH.

Regards,

Stephen H. Franke
(English Arabic,
Kurdish and Persian)
San Pedro,California, USA

#41698 (LSF)
Malaysia
Local time: 02:57
Japanese to English
+ ...
Some angles Sep 22, 2005

I don't suppose you would have the absolute say in the matter as your piece no matter how good, is based on the piece by the original author. So, without the consent of the original author or the copyright holder of the original version, I suppose it can't be reproduced unless the copyright holder waived all rights.