Thread poster: alps
alps
alps  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:05
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Sep 27, 2005

(First of all, I should explain that I’ve been a translator since 1997. I’ve been with ProZ for about 4 weeks or whereabouts. My top language pairings are English-Portuguese and Portuguese-English. That said, I’ve seen numerous ads and offers for other language pairings as well.)

Now, the puzzle: Oftentimes, I see people (or companies) requesting highly technical (medical, literature, scientific) translation work for .04-.08USD per word, sometimes for rush (or next-day) jobs.
... See more
(First of all, I should explain that I’ve been a translator since 1997. I’ve been with ProZ for about 4 weeks or whereabouts. My top language pairings are English-Portuguese and Portuguese-English. That said, I’ve seen numerous ads and offers for other language pairings as well.)

Now, the puzzle: Oftentimes, I see people (or companies) requesting highly technical (medical, literature, scientific) translation work for .04-.08USD per word, sometimes for rush (or next-day) jobs. And I've also noticed that many translators offer their services for those same amounts.

I have two questions related to the above observation regarding the ProZ ads (whether offering or requesting translation services).

1) What sort of quality level would a client expect from a translator who charges next to nothing for his/her work? Say, 2,000 words - about a full day’s load - for .05USD per word, or a total of $100. Certainly, that’s very good money in Somalia or in Haiti - but in the US or in the EU?

2) How does the freelance translator in question make a living at .04 or .07USD per word - when most people only manage to translate about 2,000-2,500 words a day?