Payment for work
Thread poster: ingerelis
ingerelis
Local time: 07:50
French to Norwegian
+ ...
Oct 26, 2005

Hello,

I am just getting started as a freelance translator and I have a question regarding the payment of my work.

When you have clients ( not agencies) how do you manage the payment. Do you send the translation directly and then hope to get paid or do you make them sign some sort of contract before you do the work?

Maybe I am a bit paranoid, but I would like to be sure to get paid;)

Thank you in advance for you answers.

Elise

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Check the forums Oct 26, 2005

Hi ingerelis,
There are numerous related topics both in this forum as well as in Business Issues and Getting established. You could search for terms like "invoice/invoicing", "getting paid", etc., or you could just browse the topic list - chances are you'll find other interesting issues.

Thinking about making sure you're getting paid is not paranoid at all - Giuliana Buscaglione and I gave a presentation on the business risks involved (and some hints on how to manage them) at last year's ProZ.com Conference in Oxford. Our bullet points are found here.

Best regards,
Ralf

ingerelis
French to Norwegian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
thank you Oct 26, 2005

Thank you for this tip, I will definitely check out the other forums. By the way, I printed your article and will have a look at it now.

Thanks again,

Ingerelis

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Deliver and hope for payment Oct 26, 2005

ingerelis wrote:
Do you send the translation directly and then hope to get paid or do you make them sign some sort of contract before you do the work?