Mobile menu

Do word counts include numbers (numeric form)?
Thread poster: Patricia McDonald

Patricia McDonald  Identity Verified
Local time: 03:55
Spanish to English
Dec 7, 2005

I am relatively new to the world of translations - I´d like to know if numbers (numeric form) are included in word counts when calculating invoices? Do CAT tools include numerals in their word counts?I have a scanned document that has to be counted manually in order to calculate the source word count and would like to be able to send a correct invoice to the client. Many thanks for any feed back you can give me.

Direct link Reply with quote

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:55
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
Convert the document to a Word document first Dec 7, 2005

I wouldn't count any words manually, if I were you. You need to convert the .pdf to a Word document in order to translate it, and then you click on the word count option. You take the number of words that Word tells you the document is - which, in any event, includes everything in the document shaped like a word (i.e. numerals, e-mail addresses, hyperlinks, etc.). The word count is only to provide a basis for reaching a figure to charge for the translation.

Ideally, you should use PractiCount for invoicing. Once you have programmed it, it counts all the words for you and calculates the invoice as well, including any VAT due on it. You can change the settings in PractiCount, to inform the programme whether or not to include footnotes, etc. in the word count.

If you start counting words manually, on any occasion, you will not have time to make a living as a translator.

Behnam Koleili  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:25
Member (2004)
English to Farsi (Persian)
+ ...
A suggestion! Dec 8, 2005