Off topic: Comic translation - how is it rated?
Thread poster: Beatriz-S
Beatriz-S
English to Spanish
Dec 28, 2005

Dear all,

I got my degree in Translating and Interpreting a few years ago but haven't had much professional experience since then as I've kept on studying. Now I've been asked to translate some comics (Spanish>English) and I have no idea of how this type of translation should be rated. I've been having a look at a number of web pages (translation agencies, associations...) but couldn't find any information on comic translation. Does anyone know whether it should be rated per word, as other types of translations? And should the average rates in Spain (apparently 0.07 to 0.10 euros per word) be charged?

I would appreciate as many thoughts as you can share with me as soon as possible, since I must submit an estimate no later than tomorrow and I wouldn't like to charge too much or too little.

Thanks,

Beatriz

Direct link Reply with quote

kimjasper  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 23:01
Member (2006)
English to Danish
+ ...
Alternative rate Dec 28, 2005

I suggest a per-laugh-rate, e.g. EUR 5 for a laugh, and EUR 10 for a big laugh. The funnier the text, the more you will get...

xxxLia Fail  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
Spanish to English??? Dec 28, 2005

Beatriz-S wrote:

Dear all,

I got my degree in Translating and Interpreting a few years ago but haven't had much professional experience since then as I've kept on studying. Now I've been asked to translate some comics (Spanish>English) and I have no idea of how this type of translation should be rated. I've been having a look at a number of web pages (translation agencies, associations...) but couldn't find any information on comic translation. Does anyone know whether it should be rated per word, as other types of translations? And should the average rates in Spain (apparently 0.07 to 0.10 euros per word) be charged?