Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
When (and why) do I charge VAT ?
Thread poster: garrett higgins
garrett higgins
garrett higgins
Local time: 09:05
Italian to English
Feb 6, 2006

I have recently returned to IRELAND where I work as a translator from home. My accountant says that if I go beyond a certain income threshold (c. €27,500), it is obligatory to register for VAT and I must charge VAT accordingly.
However, almost all (but not all) my work is currently billed in the USA. The rest (about 10-15%) is billed in Italy, England, Switzerland and Belgium.
I am not sure if it possible to charge these agencies VAT. If I cannot, do I still have to pay VAT? Who ca
... See more
I have recently returned to IRELAND where I work as a translator from home. My accountant says that if I go beyond a certain income threshold (c. €27,500), it is obligatory to register for VAT and I must charge VAT accordingly.
However, almost all (but not all) my work is currently billed in the USA. The rest (about 10-15%) is billed in Italy, England, Switzerland and Belgium.
I am not sure if it possible to charge these agencies VAT. If I cannot, do I still have to pay VAT? Who can I charge VAT?
Unfortunately, I have difficulty understanding these issues; any help would be appreciated greatly.
Thanks,
Garrett James Higgins ([email protected])
Collapse

pcovs
pcovs
Denmark
Local time: 10:05
English to Danish
Take a look at this. Feb 6, 2006

http://www.worldwide-tax.com/ireland/ire_other.asp

This should explain the rules further, otherwise you should try googling for [VAT +Ireland] or something similar.

As I see it, the same rules apply in Ireland as in Denmark; no VAT charged for clients in USA or member countries in the EU, but you must still register for VAT.

The good thing about t
... See more
http://www.worldwide-tax.com/ireland/ire_other.asp

This should explain the rules further, otherwise you should try googling for [VAT +Ireland] or something similar.