Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Bidding should not be based on price (staff: it is not)
Thread poster: Francis Icaza
Francis Icaza
Francis Icaza
United States
Local time: 22:34
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 2, 2002

A couple of things for clarity:

A. I don’t bid on translation projects. I’m not a translator by trade, I’m an interpreter.

B. I decided some time ago to no longer bid on interpreting jobs with the purpose of winning the bids as part of my intention for doing so.

C. I continue to follow my traditional system for drumming up business, quoting my price for assignments and either getting the business or losing it to a competitor.<
... See more
A couple of things for clarity:

A. I don’t bid on translation projects. I’m not a translator by trade, I’m an interpreter.

B. I decided some time ago to no longer bid on interpreting jobs with the purpose of winning the bids as part of my intention for doing so.

C. I continue to follow my traditional system for drumming up business, quoting my price for assignments and either getting the business or losing it to a competitor.

D. I have strayed from the procedure in point C few times and I have made the firm commitment to never stray again.

Now, my opinion:

1. This bidding “process” in here is counter-productive and ill serves the needs and the collective futures of linguists. It should be done away with entirely and potential clients should be showered with the résumés of those translators or interpreters who have the experience and expertise to provide professional service based on the requirments of the job. Rates need not be the sole driving force between the client and the provider. By competing based on price and not based on qualifications we are playing into the hands of those who conspire to break the backs of freelance professionals.