Mobile menu

US Rates/Quote: book writing and translation. Advice needed.
Thread poster: TranslateThis
TranslateThis  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:51
Spanish to English
+ ...
Mar 1, 2006

Rates: book writing and translation

I was approached by an accomplished scientist who would like me to write his biography. The project would involve extensive research, interviews and writing (in English). Then the book would be translated into another language. I am not sure how to come up with a quote for this particular project. I am a decent writer, nevertheless, if the budget allows, I would like to use an editor at least for the English version of the book. The client wants a quote for the whole project so that he can prepare a contract. He does not have a budget in mind at this point (of course, as always, the less it costs the better). I, on the other hand, would not want to end up working for peanuts.

Any advice regarding rates in the US would be appreciated here on the forum or via e-mail. Thank you!

Direct link Reply with quote

Tina Vonhof  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:51
Member (2006)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Some advice Mar 1, 2006

I can't answer to the rates for such a project but I would caution you against letting your (or the scientist's) enthusiasm get away with you and setting this up on your own.