Interpreting rates
Thread poster: Julie BEILLE - FOLTZ
Julie BEILLE - FOLTZ
France
Local time: 15:46
English to French
+ ...
Apr 14, 2006

I wanted to know what to charge for an interpreting day. I explain I would have to go with a business man and translate for different meetings, including the preparation as I don't know yet the field of the company. So I would like to get a price range.
Thanks

Direct link Reply with quote

Ilaria Gigli  Identity Verified
French to Italian
+ ...
Reply from an interpreter Apr 14, 2006

Hello,

My name is Ilaria Gigli and I have been working as an interpreter and a translator for 5 years. Concerning interpreting rates, the rate per day depends on a lot of factors. Is is a conference or a simple meeting where you should translate for a group of people? If it is so, the rate could be something like 150 eur per day. If it is a conference and you should work as a consecutive interpreter or simoultaneus translator, you could ask more, let's say 250 or 300 per day.

Try to suggest high prices, and do not hesitate to get them lower, if you see that your client is a bit upset by your rates. Do not go under 200 if it is a conference or under 100 if it is a simple meeting.

Good luck

Ilaria

xxxEmmanuelleAn  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...
Interpreting rates Apr 14, 2006

The price for simultaneous interpreting is generally
500 EUR/day (300 euro half day) if you are working through a translation agency. For consecutive, the fee is usually 400 EUR/day (250 half day)(agency). If you are to work after 6 pm, there will obviously be additional fees.
It looks like you're gonna do some consec'. If it is 'real consec' you're gonna do -i.e. 12'speech and then translation-you can charge more. .

English to French
+ ...
Attention Apr 14, 2006