outrageous rates
Thread poster: Ulrich Garn

Ulrich Garn  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:39
English to German
+ ...
Aug 21, 2002

I am new to ProZ, but have been a freelance translator since 87. During my first weeks with ProZ I have found that many of the companies posting here offer per word rates that are simply an insult to any professional translator. I categorically ignore such offers, but I am afraid that there are enough people around who accept jobs for any rate. So I am beginning to have doubts about the usefulness of this site. This topic may have been discussed here before, but, as I said, I am new here, and I would be glad to hear some opinions on this.

Direct link Reply with quote

OlafK
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:39
English to German
+ ...
If you pay peanuts you get monkeys Aug 22, 2002

I have been a (non paying) member since June and I find ProZ.com very helpful, the forums and the KudoZ section, but like you I was shocked when I first saw some of the ludicrous job offers. Now I largely ignore them. There are just as many substandard agencies as there are useless translators, sollen sie glücklich miteinander werden. And yes, the discussion about rates has been going on for ages. People argue that the rates of the badly paid jobs are still good for translators living in \"cheap\" countries and since this is a global site they are probably right. But agencies actually use economic crises in certain countries to lower rates for the languages concerned substantially. I live in one of the most expensive cities of the world, unfortunately, and although this country hasn\'t been struck by a major crisis yet from my perpective it all looks a bit grim. Maybe I should move.

United States
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I withdraw this topic Aug 22, 2002