Mobile menu

Invoicing in euros, payment in GBP
Thread poster: Helene Greffard

Helene Greffard  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:19
English to French
May 8, 2006

I've been working with this UK agency for some time now, invoicing them in GBP, getting paid by cheque on my UK account (That's when I was a freelancer in the UK).

Now that I'm set up in France, I need to invoice them in euros but would like to keep getting paid in GBP. (Since they only pay by cheques, I'm not too keen on receiving a cheque in euros that would involve high charges.)

What is the best thing to do? Should my invoices state a fixed rate in euros that is equivalent to my usual GBP rate/1000 words? Are they supposed to send me POs in euros as well? Can they simply do a conversion in GBP on receipt of my invoices?... I wish I could just keep invoicing them in GBP but that's not an option apparently.

Many thanks for your input, I'm useless with those accounting issues...

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Why not continue invoicing in sterling? May 8, 2006

Hi Helene,
I wish I could just keep invoicing them in GBP but that's not an option apparently.

Why? Given that you're happy with receving pounds, the easiest way to proceed would seem to keep invoicing them in pounds. Of course you would need to convert your sterling inflows into euros for accounting and tax purposes, but that shouldn't be a big deal.

Can you explain why you think you have to switch to euro invoices?

Best, Ralf

English to French
TOPIC STARTER
Interesting... May 8, 2006

Hi Ralf,

Thanks for your prompt reply.
Sure I can explain -> My accountant simply told me that it wasn't legal to send invoices in other currencies than euros... Now I'm wondering why... She suggested the agency should convert the amount in GBP on receipt of my invoices in euros.
Obviously I'd rather keep things as they are and I guess I will.