mattsmith
mattsmith
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:21
German to English
+ ...
Jun 8, 2006

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the industry and have just completed a six months' German - English translating internship in Germany, as well as modern languages degree and translation MA.

The same company here in Germany has offered me a contract of employment that sees me getting paid around 1,400 - 2,000 (max) Euros a month for translating a variety of technical, legal, marketing and general texts, depending upon how much I do. They expect at least 2,000 words a day if not
... See more
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the industry and have just completed a six months' German - English translating internship in Germany, as well as modern languages degree and translation MA.

The same company here in Germany has offered me a contract of employment that sees me getting paid around 1,400 - 2,000 (max) Euros a month for translating a variety of technical, legal, marketing and general texts, depending upon how much I do. They expect at least 2,000 words a day if not more. Also, there are possible salary deductions if translations aren't accepted by clients.

Is this acceptable - or should I apply for new jobs? I want to stay in-house. How much should I realistically expect to earn?

Thanks in advance,

matts.
Collapse

Annika Neudecker
Annika Neudecker  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 08:21
English to German
Run! Jun 8, 2006

Matts,

I'm a freelancer, so I can't give you any specific "in-house" advice, however... here's my general advice: Run!

You wrote, "Also, there are possible salary deductions if translations aren't accepted by clients."

Don't sign anything like that! Some clients are fickle. I've proofread perfectly fine translations that were accepted by two different translators - yet the client said, "The translation is wrong." Sometimes, clients don't even specifiy the s
... See more
Matts,