Anabel Martínez  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 20:54
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 10, 2006

Hi everyone,

A few months ago I made a project for this company, based in my city, who told me they would pay me when the end client did. I was a newbie to the world of freelancing then and did not realize what those words implied. Well, to make a long story short, I received payment from them, a couple of months after I threatened them via email repeatedly and after many phone calls with the PM who was never in the office or was always in a meeting.

Well, this guy has contacted me again to offer me another project, stating that this long-term client of his pays much faster. I am aware that it is best to stay clear from such clients, but I wonder if any of you deal with such cases differently, e.g. by signing an agreement and/or asking for half or all the payment in advance. What do you do in such cases?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Anabel

Direct link Reply with quote

Branka Stankovic McCarthy  Identity Verified
Serbia
English to Serbian
+ ...
YOUR terms Jun 10, 2006

Clearly state to your terms of payment - invoice payable in so many days - and get the confirmation in writing from them that they've agreed to your terms.
It shouldn't be your concern when the agency gets paid by the client.

xxxdf49f
France
you can't ! Jun 10, 2006

Anabel Martínez wrote:
How to assurance payment from bad payers?

You can't! whatever you do, contract clauses or not, they'll pay - or not pay - exactly when and if they decide to. And we never have any recourse against crooks like that
If they did it once, and they'll do it again, because that's their usual business practice.
Branca is right, it is not our concern when (or if) agencies get paid from their end-client. - and that practice is also unacceptable.

Anabel Martínez wrote:
What do you do in such cases?

I stay away from them!