Mobile menu

What should a beginner charge?
Thread poster: Armorel Young

Armorel Young  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:36
Member (2004)
German to English
Sep 11, 2002

I\'m in my 50s, live in the UK, currently working towards the IOL diploma after having spent 25 years in other sorts of work. Can anyone tell me what sort of rate I might reasonably charge, for example if bidding for ProZ jobs? I\'d like to get translating work for the experience and so would be happy to do it at this stage for quite a low rate, but I appreciate the importance of not unfairly undercutting those who need to make their living from it. Because I have little knowledge of rates I would welcome some concrete suggestions if possible.

Direct link Reply with quote

Ingar A. Milnes  Identity Verified
Local time: 15:36
English to Norwegian
+ ...
Try agencies for experience Sep 11, 2002

As a beginner with some kind of credentials and a record of linguistic experience (which means command of source and target), I would apply for work at an agency first. You\'ll be helped there and automatically, of course, earn less than you would attending to your own clients. At the same time, you become familiar with quality control procedures. At the moment, I should believe a charge of about 3.8 pence to 6 pence per word working for a UK agency as a beginner would be adequate. What do my colleagues think?(I\'ve been Germany-based for 10 years now, so I\'m not completely sure)

OlafK
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:36
English to German
+ ...
At least £60 for 1000 words Sep 12, 2002