Translation rates (Mod: German to French, software user guide)
Thread poster: Miam21 (X)
Miam21 (X)
Miam21 (X)
German to French
+ ...
Aug 30, 2006

Hello,
I'm a translation student living in France and I've been asked to translate a German software user's guide of 50,700 words.
I'd like to know what translation rate I can charge per word, knowing that German and French are both my mothertongues, but my school graduation is only next year, meaning that I'm a "non-official beginner" in that business.
Many thanks!

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2006-08-30 17:23]

Yolande Haneder (X)
Yolande Haneder (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:59
German to French
+ ...
Before asking about rates... Aug 30, 2006

Ask yourself what it is to be responsible of a 50 000 words job.
Even if German and French are your mother tongues (which may for some be prone to discussion), you will spend a huge lot of time having to research about the software terminology if you are not used to it. To make it clear, there is hardly a straightforward software dictionnary for the german to french pair (at least not one that I know of) and oft you need to cut through english databases to get through (not to say that eac
... See more
Ask yourself what it is to be responsible of a 50 000 words job.
Even if German and French are your mother tongues (which may for some be prone to discussion), you will spend a huge lot of time having to research about the software terminology if you are not used to it. To make it clear, there is hardly a straightforward software dictionnary for the german to french pair (at least not one that I know of) and oft you need to cut through english databases to get through (not to say that each new software may have its own terminology).