https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/61136-giving_a_quote_per_line_of_source_text.html

Giving a quote per line of source text
Thread poster: Julian Wood
Julian Wood
Julian Wood  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:25
Czech to English
+ ...
Dec 7, 2006

Hello
I'm quite new to translation, and have been asked to quote my 'most attractive' price for Czech>English for a German agency.
I assume I'll give a price in Euros, I think 0.07EUR is my rate per word, how do I convert this to a rate per line?
He says a 'standard line' is 55 keystrokes including spaces;
(pro Normzeile à 55 Anschlägen inkl. Leerzeichen im Ausgangstext?)
Thanks a lot/ Vielen Dank im Voraus!

Margreet Logmans (X)
Margreet Logmans (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 10:25
English to Dutch
+ ...
Ask to see a sample, or charge per hour Dec 7, 2006

55 keystrokes per line is not a regular text, if you ask me.

The sentence I typed above is rather short, I did a quick count and it seems to have around 60 characters, including spaces.

So, if I were you, I'd ask te see the text, or a sample of it, and translate a small part of it. That way, you can figure out how much time the translation of the whole text will cost you, and you can charge per hour.

If you don't want to charge per hour, ask for the text an
... See more
55 keystrokes per line is not a regular text, if you ask me.

The sentence I typed above is rather short, I did a quick count and it seems to have around 60 characters, including spaces.

So, if I were you, I'd ask te see the text, or a sample of it, and translate a small part of it. That way, you can figure out how much time the translation of the whole text will cost you, and you can charge per hour.

If you don't want to charge per hour, ask for the text and run a Trados Analysis.

By the way, don't be too modest in pricing. Your work and time is as valuable as anyone's.

Good luck!

Margreet
Collapse

Victor Dewsbery
Victor Dewsbery  Identity Verified
Germany