User
Thread poster: Jenny Duthie
Using Paypal - how to receive payments

Jenny Duthie  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 07:33
French to English
Dec 21, 2006

Hello I'm a freelance translator & have just signed up with Paypal and I'm not at all clear on how to receive payments, I don't find their online instructions very clear, and don't even know where to find my Paypal email. Any advice would be very much appreciated, thanks.

Direct link Reply with quote

Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 22:33
English to German
+ ...
Hi Jenny Dec 21, 2006

I absolutely agree that the instructions aren't very clear.

However, the email address is your regular email address. Paypal doesn't assign new ones.

To withdraw money, click on "Withdraw" (top of the screen, where it says: "Overview", "Add Funds", "Withdraw", etc.).

It will display the amount available and from then on it's easy.

Has your account been verified yet?

Best,

Nicole

Jenny Duthie  Identity Verified
France
French to English
TOPIC STARTER
thanks re query about receiving Paypal payments Dec 21, 2006

thanks very much Nicole, but what instructions do I have to give my customer (in this case, a translation agency) on how to make my payment, also the account has not been verified yet as I still don't have the 4-digit code which Paypa has given to my bankl

United States
English to German
+ ...
No instructions necessary Dec 21, 2006

Hi Jenny,

That your client agreed to pay via Paypal (not all of them do!) indicates that they are signed up with Paypal already and know what to do. All they need is the email address that you used to start your account. To make it even easier for your clients: On your profile page you can choose "preferred payment method". If you enable Paypal, the little Paypal icon will be shown on your profile page and all the customer will have to do, is to click on it and all your payment information will be available.

Addendum: