current rate per word
Thread poster: maria beatrice panico
maria beatrice panico
Local time: 20:51
English to Italian
Feb 4, 2007

hi to everyone. I'm a newbie. Is there anyone who can tell me what the current rate per word is for English to Italian translation ?
Thank youuuuuu

Direct link Reply with quote

Giuliana Buscaglione  Identity Verified
Austria
Member (2001)
German to Italian
+ ...
it depends... Feb 5, 2007

Hi "eudeia",

the answer is more complex than it seems It depends on the field, the complexity of the text and also on the market (Country), whether agency or direct client, the translation is sold to, just to mention a couple of factors... and of course your expertise.

Each translator ought also to do some maths about his/her own costs and expenses, making sure that the offered rate does cover them and allow to make an acceptable living, before accepting/offering (blindly) any rate.

Giuliana

maria beatrice panico
English to Italian
TOPIC STARTER
current rate Feb 5, 2007

dear giuliana,
thank you for your kind reply...I hope to start working very soon...guess I'll have to try and learn day by day...but if everyone has some good advice. please feel free to post here.
have a nice day
maribea

William [Bill] Gray  Identity Verified
Norway
Member (2006)
English
+ ...
It's sometimes called ... Feb 5, 2007

Due diligence

Giuliana Buscaglione wrote:

Hi "eudeia",

the answer is more complex than it seems It depends on the field, the complexity of the text and also on the market (Country), whether agency or direct client, the translation is sold to, just to mention a couple of factors... and of course your expertise.

Each translator ought also to do some maths about his/her own costs and expenses, making sure that the offered rate does cover them and allow to make an acceptable living, before accepting/offering (blindly) any rate.

Giuliana

And a good place to start is the FAQ on rates:
http://www.proz.com/faq/rates#rate_calc