Mobile menu

Outsourcing scientific work
Thread poster: xxxgjn
Spanish to English
Feb 6, 2007

I'm a scientific translator (mostly Spanish->English, mainly biomedical and biology) with many years of professional experience as an employee... but I'm just starting up as a freelancer.

I'm beginning to get enquiries about larger jobs or agreements that would require me to contract work out, and to take on a coordinating and quality-control role myself.

OK... but I don't know anything about contracting out. Evidently, if I'm going to do this I need a) to have some margin of profit and b) to find translators whose work is good enough. So if I want decent-quality scientific translation from say Spanish, French or German to English, what should I expect to pay? 0.07 euros word? 0.10 euros word? I don't care much about Trados and stuff... rather I'd be looking for people with a science background, a good understanding of academic and technical writing styles, and a conscientious and thinking approach to translation. I would offer reasonably generous but very rigid deadlines.

Can I hope to find scientific translators of a reasonable standard at around these rates? And what sort of percentage margin would people suggest? What sort of margin do serious quality-oriented agencies typically work with?

Of course I realize all of these figures are often pretty much confidential, but perhaps the people here can give me some sort of useful advice.

Very many thanks!

[Edited at 2007-02-06 17:29]

Direct link Reply with quote
Local time: 07:34
English to German
+ ...
various factors to consider Feb 7, 2007