current rate russian to english
Thread poster: arinka
arinka
United States
Local time: 07:23
English to Russian
+ ...
Feb 8, 2007

Hi all! I'm new to this, just got asked to translate 5 pages or so of text from Russian to English, need to know how much to charge per word...Any suggestions? A friend suggested charging $125 for the first 1000 words and then charging at least 30c per word, but I would like to make sure first that this is reasonable...

Direct link Reply with quote

Zamira*****  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 16:23
Member (2006)
English to Uzbek
+ ...
at least 30c per word?? did I get it right? Feb 8, 2007

arinka wrote:

Hi all! I'm new to this, just got asked to translate 5 pages or so of text from Russian to English, need to know how much to charge per word...Any suggestions? A friend suggested charging $125 for the first 1000 words and then charging at least 30c per word, but I would like to make sure first that this is reasonable...

Hi, if you manage to charge your client this rate for this pair consider youself VERY lucky. Min, target and max rate according to Proz is 7, 10, and 18 cents a word.

Zamira

[Edited at 2007-02-08 15:05]

[Edited at 2007-02-08 15:06]

arinka
United States
English to Russian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
russian to english Feb 8, 2007

Zamira,

Thanks! That's what I thought, but since the friend worked for a translation agency I wondered if she might be right...

-Irina

[Edited at 2007-02-08 15:28]

Mikhail Kropotov  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Member (2005)
English to Russian
+ ...
Corrections Feb 8, 2007

Hi Zamira Those stats are AVERAGES - mean mininum, mean target and mean maximum. The absolute minimum is probably under 1 cent/word.