https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/66480-advice_about_a_book_translation.html

Advice about a book translation
Thread poster: Hadas Elber (X)
Hadas Elber (X)
Hadas Elber (X)
Local time: 21:49
English to Hebrew
Feb 20, 2007

Hello everyone,

As seasoned literary translators I would like to ask you for your advice. I am rather new at translating, and have been recently offered a project of translating a fantasy novel from English to Hebrew.

This novel is 730 pages long and quite challenging. I have been offered approximately 1.5 USD per page. Moreover, I am expected to finish translating the entire book in 7 months, or the payment will be reduced by 25%.

I am a new translator (I
... See more
Hello everyone,

As seasoned literary translators I would like to ask you for your advice. I am rather new at translating, and have been recently offered a project of translating a fantasy novel from English to Hebrew.

This novel is 730 pages long and quite challenging. I have been offered approximately 1.5 USD per page. Moreover, I am expected to finish translating the entire book in 7 months, or the payment will be reduced by 25%.

I am a new translator (I recieved the offer due to the fact that I'm an Israeli writer), and I'm also starting to study this year. Therefore after some thought I told the publisher that I'm willing to accept the financial terms, but I need more time for the project. He told me that he'd get back to me, but that basically he needs the book to be translated fast and will be looking for a faster translator. I am not quite sure that I did the right thing.

What do you think? Should I have accepted the challenge? I can still try to call him back and reduce my studies.
Collapse

Ken Cox
Ken Cox  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:49
German to English
+ ...
don't bother Feb 20, 2007