Mobile menu

Cheques in euro zone - which language?
Thread poster: Charlie Bavington
Charlie Bavington  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:06
French to English
Feb 23, 2007

Altho I'm a UK resident, I have a bank account in France (with Soc Gen, if that makes a difference), which I have kept open from the time I was living there (i.e. it's not a special non-residents account).

My question is, if I write a cheque in euros (obviously) to someone living outside France but in the euro-zone, which language do I use for the "amount in words" part of the cheque? I've looked at the cheque book, there is no indication there.
Should it be the payee's language, so the "local" bank can understand it, or in French, so Soc Gen can understand it when they get the cheque returned after clearing?

Supplementary question: The fact that the cheque says "payable en France" doesn't stop me doing this, does it???
(I have a feeling I should know this!)

Direct link Reply with quote

Anita Cassidy  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2005)
English to German
why not use bank transfer? Feb 23, 2007

Hi Charlie, as far as I know, the cheque-clearing systems have remained national ("payable en France" probably does mean that you can only send payment to someone in France that way). Either enquire at your French bank as to the different options available, or pay by electronic transfer. Or is this not an option?
Anita

French to English
TOPIC STARTER
Transfer can be tricky Feb 23, 2007

OK, I confess I haven't asked my bank about ANY of this stuff yet. I prefer, where possible, to gather info from people with actual experience, initially.
Too often, I find that "customer service" will just not know the answer, or make up rules/advice on the spot. They are, after all, just human, they may just say "no, you can't" because you're the first person who ever asked the question, and they assume the answer is no as a result.
So, forewarned is forearmed is my motto